Former NHS Nurse and manager now contemplating the NHS from outside

Another blogger outed

It was with great sadness and a sense of irritation on her behalf, that I discovered yesterday that the Fat Doctor blog is no more. Some wicked person had found it, printed the whole thing out and shown it to her boss, now that is below the belt. For those of us who blog about work, and in particular those of us who have professional responsibilities to uphold we are always in a precarious position. Fat Doctor provided us with some wonderful insights into her life, yes her work life but also about her home and family life, her childcare arrangements and of course her illness. I know that those of us who read her recently will miss her and hope she will be back very soon.

The thought of being discovered and outed is on my mind a lot now, so I am becoming increasingly worried about blogging about work per say unless I am talking about things personal to just me or so general as to not really matter. It does tend to cause your creativity to suffer though. Why am I worried? Well I am now doing a job which is specific and only I do for the whole county. If anyone who knew me well were to find this blog it would take them just a few minutes to discover it was me and while I don’t think I have broken any codes of confidentiality, professional practice or indeed moral responsibilities to my employer it is still a consideration. Hopefully I don’t know anyone quite as mean as the person in Fat Doctor’s office, but you never know.

On a more positive note though, at the start of my course I started categories entitled reflective practice and post graduate, the entries to which I will soon be using as the basis for my reflective practice portfolio to be submitted at the end of my course later in June. I am really what might be described as a last minute person, and that is why it is a stroke of luck, because everything else that might go into it is actually stored in a pile of papers on the spare bed! On another positive note, my dissertation is now 8600 words and I am ready to move on to my methods and findings. I can now take back to the library all the books on philosophy that made me look clever but which are pretty hard to read.

What has happened to Fat Doctor and others will not put me off blogging, but I intend to be careful. Mind you we have a summer of teenager antics to come yet as he is in the midst of exams right now but then will have a very long summer to get into mischief, plus there will be his prom to post pictures of. Maybe this blog could be renamed…….. or maybe not, I work in the NHS and I am going to write about it!

Comments on: "Another blogger outed" (8)

  1. Do you happen to know what reason her employers gave for banning her from writing about her job?

    I simply do not understand the mind set of stopping blogging of this sort, unless of course her employer is trying to hide something they believe the wider public would see as negative…which is a hell of a good reason why employers should not be allowed to stop people blogging!

  2. Her employer didn’t stop her as such as far as I can make out, but she was humiliated by a colleague at work. When you blog about work you are walking a fine line and when you are a professional person the line is even finer. People have been sacked in the past.

  3. My sympathies to Fat Doctor, though I’ve never read her blog, I believe in freedom of speech. Would you believe in my country, the government is actually thinking of getting all bloggers to register themselves? They have this stupid notion that bloggers are a bunch of lying, slanderous scum! Like turnthetables said, if you have nothing to hide, why try to put a stop bloggers from blogging? Once again, my sympathies.

  4. That is outrageous Nick. I absolutely agree.

  5. […] to maintaining both patient and blogger confidentiality. Julie from Life in the NHS discusses her concerns of being outed while our fabulous Kim makes the argument for keeping it real. Kim makes an excellent point that […]

  6. […] internet identities. Not that these ladies were the first or are likely to be the last (example1, example2 and example3). Every so often, we have this little rash of outing that accomplishes little in real […]

  7. […] Life in the NHS reported sadly on the outing of the Fat Doctor blog in 2007, a blog that continues to be updated in spite of the unwanted attention. Some wicked person had found it, printed the whole thing out and shown it to her boss, now that is below the belt. For those of us who blog about work, and in particular those of us who have professional responsibilities to uphold we are always in a precarious position. Fat Doctor provided us with some wonderful insights into her life, yes her work life but also about her home and family life, her childcare arrangements and of course her illness. I know that those of us who read her recently will miss her and hope she will be back very soon. […]

  8. […] Life in the NHS reported sadly on the outing of the Fat Doctor blog in 2007, a blog that continues to be updated in spite of the unwanted attention. Some wicked person had found it, printed the whole thing out and shown it to her boss, now that is below the belt. For those of us who blog about work, and in particular those of us who have professional responsibilities to uphold we are always in a precarious position. Fat Doctor provided us with some wonderful insights into her life, yes her work life but also about her home and family life, her childcare arrangements and of course her illness. I know that those of us who read her recently will miss her and hope she will be back very soon. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

