Former NHS Nurse and manager now contemplating the NHS from outside

A week to go

Until my dissertation is due in and I am struggling with it all. I have only written about 700 words since the weekend, and I am struggling to put one word in front of the other. I intend to work hard on it over the weekend, and at 11,700 words am making reasonable progress but it would be fair to say that I could have worked harder. Doing a masters course at the same time as working full time is no mean feat, but I find that I struggle to be motivated after work to get down to the books and actually writing stuff.

To keep me going I am now thinking of all the things that I will be able to do when I no longer have to read books about leadership and action learning and when I no longer have to write about methodologies and data analysis. So here follows a list of things that both need to be done and can be done after Friday 1st.

  1.  Housework – I have had the dyson out this evening, but all cleaning in the last few weeks has been superficial, I don’t want to do housework but it will have to be done and done thoroughly.
  2. Buy and read a newspaper without feeling guilty. I usually only buy them at the weekend, but there is nothing better than curling up on the sofa with the newspaper on a sunday afternoon (well maybe there might be but you can’t have everything)
  3. Read a book that hasn’t been sourced from the university library or bought from the reference book section of amazon. I want to read novels, nothing too deep and meaningful, but a novel just the same.
  4. Go out for the day at the weekend, visit places and people without thinking that I should be at home doing something more important.
  5. Get stuck into my new job and read about the things that go with it without thinking about the other reading I need to do for my dissertation.

So just a week and between 4 and 9, 000 words to go. I for see a heavy weekend, but I do see the light at the end of the tunnel! Photo from here

Comments on: "A week to go" (2)

  1. Hmm, I wonder how people can work and still study at the same time. I guess it takes alot of effort. For me, once I left school, the thought of wanting to study any course really never crossed my mind (well, I did study graphic design, but I didn’t have to work till I completed the course). In fact, even now that I’m working, I find it hard to even take work home to do, let alone having to do a masters course like you :) I do admire you resolve though.

  2. Brent looked at me and said, ‘He won’t get out with the car.’ There isn’t any said, ‘Get him out for this car. You are required to save him.’‘He abandoned him’She said she continued to plead, but Brent repeated that his friend wouldn’t get out. She ran to her car to buy her phone. When she returned, Brown was lying inside the middle from the far right lane and Brent had walked away.He didn’t say come on, hang in there, hold his hand, she said. That’s what upsets me just about the most at this point. He abandoned him.McWilliams said she believes Brent was in shock because he is human, but she said she still found his actions disturbing. He may have been in shock, but he was very coherent around the time, she said.

    http://www.bsbm.ru/wiki/index.php?title=%D0%A3%D1%87%D0%B0%D1%81%D1%82%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%BA:Bernice9

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

